Channel Locking

The channel info (settings) is part of the preview / live cycle if and only if the hst:channel node is below the hst:workspace in the non-inherited hst configuration of the current channel. If the hst:channel is not below the hst:workspace of the current channel's configuration, the channel info (settings) in the Experience manager will be read-only.

If the hst:channel node if configured as follows:

/hst:hst:
  /hst:configurations:
    /example:
       /...:
       /hst:workspace:
         /hst:channel:
           /hst:channelinfo:

then after the preview is created, the configuration is as follows:

/hst:hst:
  /hst:configurations:
    /example:
      /...:
      /hst:workspace:
        /hst:channel:
          /hst:channelinfo:
    /example:
      hst:inheritsfrom: ../example
      /hst:workspace:
        /hst:channel:
          /hst:channelinfo:

Now, when a webmaster makes changes to the channel settings through the Experience manager, the channel settings get locked by the webmaster. Other users can still open the channel settings dialog but all options will be greyed out:

The lock is freed after the webmaster publishes or discards their changes.

Did you find this page helpful?
How could this documentation serve you better?
On this page
    Did you find this page helpful?
    How could this documentation serve you better?

    We rely on cookies

    to optimize our communication and to enhance your customer experience. By clicking on the Accept and Close button, you agree to the collection of cookies. You can also adjust your preferences by clicking on Manage Preferences. For more information please see our Privacy policy.

    Manage cookies
    Accept & close

    Cookies preferences

    Accept & close
    Back